July Birchbox Review

Disclaimer: I’m not being compensated in any way for this review. After telling my friend TerpGal Takes on Life about the contents of my July Birchbox, she told me I needed to write a blog post about it. So here goes!

For those of you unfamiliar with Birchbox, it’s a monthly beauty product sampling service- a woman-owned start-up. You pay $10 a month and each month, a pretty little box of 4-5 premium beauty samples are shipped to you.  Most of the samples I’ve received have been very generous, and have given me a relatively inexpensive way to experiment with a new beauty routine.

Here are the contents of my Birchbox for the month of July:

I kind of need a better camera

  • AHAVA Mineral Hand Cream
  • Zoya nail polish in Shay (a neutral, metallic-y color)
  • Almond and apricot snack bar from Kind
  • Philosophy’s Purity Made Simple Facial Cleanser
  • Redken shine flash/glistening mist hair product

In the 3 months I’ve been receiving Birchboxes, this is the 2nd time I’ve gotten a product from AHAVA.  The first was a mineral body lotion and I loved it so much I ended up buying a full size version.

I was also excited to get the Philosophy facial cleanser. The few times I’ve sampled this brand I really loved it.  I used the cleanser last night before bed, and it was really gentle and did a great job of removing my make-up and other crud from a long day.

Jury is still out on the Redken spray and the Zoya nail polish. I’m going to test the nail polish tonight on my toes and see how it looks.  I used some of the Redken spray this morning but haven’t looked in the mirror to see how it’s holding up in terms of shine.

Overall, I’m happy with the Birchbox experience so far. Each month’s box tends to be themed (some months more loosely than others) and I’ve actually found a few products that I’ve ended up buying the full size version.  The good thing is, if you decide you like a sample, Birchbox’s online store offers free shipping on full size products, and you accumulate points that turn into discounts on these items.

If you are like me and are trying to “step-up” your beauty routine, take a look at Birchbox to see if it’s something you might be interested in!

Leave a Reply

