Wedding Recap: Getting Ready

(Previously)

wedding morning calm

I woke up at 6 am on the morning of my wedding feeling much calmer than I thought I would.  I showered in the upstairs bathroom of the house I grew up in, threw on some pajama pants and a tank top, then headed downstairs.  The house was quiet for a few moments.  My dad browsed some news sites on his computer.  My mom arrived back from a grocery trip with croissants and orange juice.  I mixed up a pitcher of mimosas.

At 7 am, my bridesmaids began to arrive.  Followed by my hair stylist.  From that moment on, I felt like I was in the eye of a hurricane.  I was calm, watching the chaos of 5 women, plus my mother, then my aunt, rush around getting dressed, doing their make-up and hair, eating breakfast.  I sat in the center of all of this while Katie (hairstylist) curled and sprayed and combed my hair.

zen

It was a really surreal experience.  In my head I got that this was my wedding day.  That this would be my wedding hairstyle.  That this was finally, really happening.  It felt beyond strange… and yet I was completely calm.

This time also went by extremely quickly.  My hair was done and then everything seemed to speed up a bit more.

putting on a wedding dress is a process

I went into the bathroom and did my make-up, then stepped into my dress just around 8:00 am.  The limo pulled up in front of my parents’ home at 8:10 am.  I climbed in around 8:30 am, my bridesmaids followed me into the limo,  and we were off to the venue!

ready to get this show on the road

this might be the funniest picture ever taken

 *To be continued…*

2 responses to “Wedding Recap: Getting Ready

  1. Pingback: wedding day beauty & style | Maryland Mel

  2. Pingback: the limo ride | Maryland Mel

Leave a Reply

